Painted Lace: Wisteria Diamond Shawl – 塗られたレース:藤ダイヤモンド・ショール

painted_shawl06昨年、友人と一緒に、有名な日本の着物メーカー’久保田・一竹‘の博物館を見に行きました。これは非常に感動的でした。着物パターンは編物のレースのように見えると思いました。どのように私は色とパターン会わせるように塗るだろうか?

painted_shawl07この質問はこれは面白い旅に連れて行ってくれました。私はフルサイズのレース作品をペイントすることができます方法とプロセスを開発しました。私は、同様のプロセスの情報を見つけることができませんでしたので、いくつかのツールを自分で開発しなければならなでした。同じような主題に関する本の数を買いました。冬の間は私は東京で着物スタジオを訪れ、午後のワークショップに参加しました。

painted_shawl09私のプロセスをテストし、微調整するために、白いダイヤモンドレースのショールを編みました。これは、数時間かかりました。それから、パターンを決定しなければなりませんでした。紙で、様々なシナリオを試してみました。最後に、レースの概要を次の規則的なパターンを決定した。最後に、規則的なパターンを決定しました。カラーパレットのように、藤の花を使用していました。メインパターンは濃い藤色で塗装されていました。その間の線は、光の紫を使用していました。それぞれのダイヤモンドは緑の色合いで塗られました。

painted_shawl04昨日、作品を蒸して、それを洗浄しました。今日、ショールを形にアイロンしました。とても良いになりましただと思います。

painted_lace_half03Last year a friend and I went to see the museum of the famous Japanese kimono maker ‘Itchiku Kubota‘. This turned out to be a very inspiring visit. On my way home, I thought that the kimono patterns looked like knitted lace. How could I color the lace pattern in a way, that the resulting pattern matches the lace?

painted_shawl05This took me on a journey to develop a method and process that allows me to paint full-size knitted laces pieces. As I couldn’t find any information of a similar process, I had to develop it and several tools myself. I bought a number of books on similar subjects. During winter, I visited a kimono dyer here in Tokyo and took part in an afternoon workshop.

To test and finetune my process, I knitted a white diamond lace shawl. This already took me several hours. Then I had to decide on a pattern. On paper, I tried out various scenarios. In the end, I decided on a regular pattern that follows the outline of the lace. As a color palette, I used the flowers of wisteria. The main pattern is painted in a dark mauve. For the lines in between I used a light purple. The inside of each diamond is painted in shades of green.

painted_shawl04Yesterday I steamed the piece and washed it. Today, I pinned it and ironed the shawl into shape. I must say, I am very happy with the result.

 

2 thoughts on “Painted Lace: Wisteria Diamond Shawl – 塗られたレース:藤ダイヤモンド・ショール

  1. Bernd: That is absolutely gorgeous. Looks like a lot of work, but the results are worth it. Lots of crafty hugs Essie from Oz

    • Hello,

      thanks for your kind email. Yes, this was a lot of work. I had to start from zero, with no idea, if it would work. I am really happy with the result. Now I am working on other pieces.
      Bernd

Leave a Reply

