紙布織り – Paper Spinning

月曜日の午後に私は茨城県までへ行きました。和紙の教室で紙布の半日のクラスを予約しました。正氣先生はこの芸術のマスターです。30年前作ったカーディガンを見せて、何回洗ったらとても柔らかくなりました。

それから先生はどのように紙を準備する私を示しました。それは非常に時間のかかるプロセスです。後、私たちは、糸を作るために日本の伝統的な糸車を使用していました。午後には先生から先作った糸から織り、正方形を作るを見せてくれました。

火曜日は1日雨を降りましたし、けど水曜日はツーリングのてめにとても良い天気でした。朝食の後に山の方へ行って、海まで乗りました。とても良い道を見つかりました。ツーリングしながら竜神大吊橋、ガラスメーカーと花園神社を見に行きました。

On Monday afternoon I took of to Ibaraki Prefecture. I had booked a half day class at a traditional Japanese paper maker to learn how to spin yarn from paper. My teacher, Mr. Seiki is a true master of this art. He showed me a jacket he made 30 some years ago. Even after washing it many times, it is as soft as the finest cotton.

He then showed me how to prepare the paper for spinning it. It is a quite time consuming process. Later we used a traditional Japanese spinning wheel for making the actual yarn. In the afternoon he showed me how to actually weave a small piece from the yarn we had made.

The whole day it was raining, but on Wednesday the weather was great for some more touring. After breakfast I took my bike into the mountains and towards the ocean. It was a wonderful ride on amazingly beautiful mountain roads. Along my way I visited the Ryujinkyou Suspension Bridge, a glass manufacturer and the Hanazono Temple. There were several Cryptomeria trees over 700 years old.

Leave a Reply

