Lopi with Aizome

Preparation

For an upcoming project at my knitting school, I have to knit a sweater or cardigan with a yoke design. The project requires to use Lopi wool from Iceland.

To prepare for creating a design, I had to find out, if Lopi wool could be dyed with Aizome. I used to samples to dye a lighter and darker shade of indigo.

The first sample took about 1 hour to dye, the second sample needed double the amount of time.

I was very impressed with the result, as I thought it would be more difficult for the wool to absorb the color. As the wool is thick and some strings stuck together, the yarns shows slight uneven spots.

Lopi samples

Leave a Reply

